Cantrell garners D2CCA All-Region football honors

Cantrell garners D2CCA All-Region football honors

PEMBROKE, N.C. --- Tusculum punter Hunter Cantrell has been named to the 2017 Division II Conference Commissioners Association's All-Super Region 2 second team announced officials on Friday.             

Cantrell, a senior from Sparta, Tennessee finished the season with a 41.64 punting average, which was second in the South Atlantic Conference and 14th-best in the country. His average this year was also the fifth highest in a TC single-season. Of his 56 punts, 26 were pinned inside the 20-yard line, the most of any punter in the conference. He recorded a six punts over 50 yards, including a season-long 56-yarder at Limestone.

The 2017 All-SAC first team honoree posted a season-best 45.5 yards per punt at Limestone in a NCAA Division II-Showcase Game where the ESPN3 announcers named him "Hunter the Punter". In TC's 31-30 double-overtime win at Newberry, Cantrell averaged 43.1 yards on his eight punts with all eight of his kicks inside the 20-yard line. He was named National Special Teams Player of the Week and the SAC Special Teams Player of the Week.

He leaves Tusculum as its all-time leader with his 241 punts and 9,504 punting yards and is fourth with his 39.44 career punting average. His 70 career punts inside the 20-yard line are also the most in school history.

The Pioneers finished the season with a 5-5 overall record, including 3-4 in league play to finish fourth in the conference, the team's second straight top-tier finish in the SAC. TC also posted its first non-losing campaign since 2014.

D2CCA All-Super Region 2 Football Team
First Team Offense
QB – Amir Hall, Bowie State
TE – Qua Boyd, West Alabama
WR – Donta Armstrong, West Alabama
WR – Kashaun Taylor, Mars Hill
RB – Devontae Jackson, West Georgia
RB – Chris Robinson, Delta State
OL – Brandon Anderson, West Alabama
OL – George Roberts, Delta State
OL – Daniel Owens, Wingate
OL – Harley Vaughan, West Georgia
OL – Dakota Mozingo, Newberry
RS – Darius Young, Mississippi College
PK – Austin Williams, West Florida

First Team Defense
DL – Adonis Davis, Florida Tech
DL – John Williamson, West Florida
DL – Brandon Gaddy, Delta State
LB – Terry Samuel, West Alabama
LB – Kyle Kitchens, Catawba
LB – Osband Thompson, Tuskegee
LB – Malik Slater, Valdosta State
S – Chris Johnson, North Alabama
S – Marvin Conley, West Florida
CB – Tevin Madison, West Alabama
CB – Jamoral Graham, Delta State
P – Zach Gaines, West Alabama

Second Team Offense
QB – Harry Satterwhite, West Alabama
TE – Jourdan Osinski, Catawba
WR – Sam Mobley, Catawba
WR – Shaq Roland, West Georgia
RB – Trenton Cannon, Virginia State
RB – Robert Chesson, Bowie State
OL – Kevin Battle, Valdosta State
OL – Desmond Harrison, West Georgia
OL – Victor Tamba, Jr., Bowie State
OL – Phillip McDowell, Carson-Newman
OL – Innis Claud V, Delta State
RS – B.J. Muckelvene, Wingate
PK – Nick Christiansen, Miles

Second Team Defense
DL – Derrick Tate, Bowie State
DL – Montel Presley, Carson-Newman
DL – Jamarcus Henderson, Newberry
LB – Robbie Wallace, Wingate
LB – Sha'Heem Stupart, Carson-Newman
LB – Landry Tullo, Delta State
LB – Cameron Magee, West Georgia
S – Taderion Myhand, West Alabama
S – Darius Williams, Carson-Newman
CB – Cris Page, Catawba
CB – Jalen Spencer, West Florida
P – Hunter Cantrell, Tusculum