Pioneers compete at rain-shortened Grizzly Open

Pioneers compete at rain-shortened Grizzly Open

LAWRENCEVILLE, Ga. --- Rain brought an early end to play at the Grizzly Open, as Tusculum University was unable to compete on Sunday after advancing several players during the first two days of the tournament.

In singles, Yago Fernandez was the lone Pioneer to advance to the round of 16 in Flight A, beating Gabriel Dabdab of Carson-Newman 6-3, 7-5 and defeating Guido Luna of Point 7-6, 3-6, (5-4 retired). Earning wins in the round of 64 were Vadzim Raitsou, who beat Rex Serituk of Emory 6-3, 6-1, Gabriel Yaguar, a 3-6, 6-1, (13-11) winner over Stefano Avendano of Belmont Abbey, Marco Meon, who won 6-2, 6-1 over Juan Silva of Blue Mountain, and Tom Dillon, who upset fifth-seeded Will Wanner of Emory 6-4, 6-3. Frank Bonacia also advanced by default over Sahil Raina of Emory.

In the consolation round, Bonacia beat Juan Carlos Romero of Emory 6-3, 7-6 and downed Will Graham of Citadel 6-3, 6-0 to move to the quarterfinals, and David Akinpetide earned wins over Jordan McClure 6-4, 6-2 and Phillip Quinn of Citadel by a 7-5, 4-6, (10-5) score. Also winning in consolation were Milan Jankovic, who beat William Coupe of Emory 4-6, 7-5, (10-6), and Manuel Almeida who was a 6-3, 6-3 winner over Ids Waterbolk of Carson-Newman. Rafael Sarasola had a win in the flight B consolation round, beating Dean Zoglio of Belmont Abbey 6-4, 7-5.

Jacco Mensing and Gabriel Yaguar moved into the quarterfinal round of doubles as they beat Avendano and Thomas Roberts of Belmont Abbey by a 6-3 score and followed up with a 6-1 win over the eighth-seeded team of Masumi Kamada and Pau Pujadas of Reinhardt. Vazdim Raitsou and Jankovic also had a victory in the round of 64 as they knocked off Elijah Buerkle and Francisco Aran Martin of Belmont Abbey by a 6-1 score.

The Pioneers will compete in two tournaments to close the fall season during the weekend of October 26 and 27, participating in both the SAC Scramble in Charlotte and the Eagle Invitational in Knoxville.

Grizzly Open
Flight A
Round of 64
Vadzim Raitsou def. Rex Serituk (Emory) 6-3, 6-1
Gabriel Yaguar def. Stefano Avendano (Belmont Abbey) 3-6, 6-1, (13-11)
Frank Bonacia def. Sahil Raina (Emory) by default
Tom Dillon def. (5) Will Wanner (Emory) 6-4, 6-3
Yago Fernandez def. Gabriel Dabdab (Carson-Newman) 6-3, 7-5
Marco Meon def. Juan Silva (Blue Mountain) 6-2, 6-1
Pau Pujadas (Reinhardt) def. Milan Jankovic, 6-2, 6-4
Zvonko Bencedic (Citadel) def. Jacco Mensinga, 6-0, 6-1
Marc Janse (Carson-Newman) def. David Akinpetide, 6-4, 6-2
Gregor Hutterer (Georgia Gwinnett) def. Manuel Almeida, 6-1, 6-3
(2) Jose Dugo (Georgia Gwinnett) def. Leon Huck, 6-1, 7-6

Round of 32
Yago Fernandez def. Guido Luna (Point) 7-6, 3-6, 5-4 (ret.)
(1) Matthias Haim (Unattached) def. Vadzim Raitsou, 3-6, 6-3, (10-6)
Hassan Kenawa (Emory) def. Gabriel Yaguar, 7-5, 7-5
Alex Gurmendi (Georgia Gwinnett) def. Frank Bonacia, 6-2, 6-0
Joe Klokow (Point) def. Tom Dillon, 6-4, 6-4
Hugo Castets (Carson-Newman) def. Marco Meon, 3-6, 6-2, (10-7)

Round of 16
(8) Mark Sverdlov (Emory) def. Yago Fernandez, 6-0, 7-5

Consolation Round of 32
Milan Jankovic def. William Coupe (Emory) 4-6, 7-5, (10-6)
Frank Bonacia def. Juan Carlos Romero (Emory), 6-3, 7-6 (7-1)
David Akinpetide def. Jordan McClure (Unattached) 6-4, 6-2
Manuel Almeida def. Ids Waterbolk (Carson-Newman) 6-3, 6-3
Leon Huck def. Haasan Badran (Emmanuel) 6-3, 6-4
Wilfredo Lara (Emmanuel) def. Jacco Mensinga, 6-3, 6-1

Consolation Round of 16
Frank Bonacia def. Will Graham (Citadel) 6-3, 6-0
David Akinpetide def. Phillip Quinn (Citadel) 7-5, 4-6, (10-5)
Gabriel Dabdab (Carson-Newman) def. Manuel Almeida, 2-6, 7-6, (10-5)
Rex Serituk (Emory) def. Milan Jankovic by default

Flight B
Round of 32
Daniel Sanz (Emory) def. Rafael Sarasola, 7-6, 6-1
Juan Camilo Burgos-Torres (Emmanuel) def. Gaston Aguilera, 6-3, 6-4

Consolation Round of 16
Rafael Sarasola def. Dean Zoglio (Belmont Abbey) 6-4, 7-5
(5) Jai Rowe (Belmont Abbey) def. Gaston Aguilera, 6-2, 6-3

Consolation Quarterfinals
(2) Elijah Buerkle (Belmont Abbey) def. Rafael Sarasola, 6-3, 6-3

Round of 64
Vadzim Raitsou/Milan Jankovic def. Elijah Buerkle/Francisco Aran Martin (Belmont Abbey) 6-1
Anthony Braem/David Akinpetide (Unattached/Tusculum) def. Rafael Sarasola/Gaston Aguilera, 6-4
Rodrigo Huarachi/Satoshi Yamada (Bluefield College) def. Leon Huck/Marco Meon, 7-6 (7-4)

Round of 32
Jacco Mensinga/Gabriel Yaguar def. Stefano Avendano/Thomas Roberts (Belmont Abbey) 6-3
William Coupe/Michael Moll (Emory) def. (5) Frank Bonacia/Manuel Almeida, 6-3
(3) Antonio Mora/Will Wanner (Emory) def. Vadzim Raitsou/Milan Jankovic, 6-3
Federico Barbon/Julien Pereira (Point) def. Yago Fernandez/Tom Dillon, 7-5

Round of 16
Jacco Mensinga/Gabriel Yaguar def. (8) Masumi Kamada/Pau Pujadas (Reinhardt) 6-1