Martin repeats as NCBWA All-American

Martin repeats as NCBWA All-American

PEMBROKE, N.C. --- Tusculum University second baseman Daulton Martin has been named to the NCAA Division II All-America first team as selected by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA).

Martin returns to the NCBWA All-America team after garnering second team accolades last season.

He becomes only the fifth multi-time All-American in program history joining three-time honoree Chad Busch (1995, 1996, 1997) and two-time winners Maiklol Gonzalez (2007, 2008), Christian Rosa (2007, 2008) and Sean Cotten (2010, 2011).  Martin joins Gonzalez as the only two-time All-Americans at second base for the Pioneers.

Martin, a junior from Lancaster, Pennsylvania, is a three-time All-South Atlantic Conference selection and led the Pioneers with his .362 batting average while also topping the league with his 22 doubles (T6th in NCAA II) and 52 walks (3rd in NCAA II).  He also led Tusculum with his eight home runs, 112 totals bases, .633 slugging percentage, .518 on-base percentage (18th in NCAA II) and five sacrifice flies.

Martin accounted for 15 multiple-hit games while also going 17-of-22 in stolen bases and was hit by pitch 11 times.  In his 153-game career with the Pioneers, Martin is batting .384 which is the ninth-highest in school history.  He is also listed throughout the TU record book where his 54 career doubles are tied for the most in program history.  He is fifth all-time in hits (214), fifth in triples (11), seventh in RBI (129), third in total bases (338), second in walks (105), fifth in hit by pitch (26) and second in career on-base percentage (.498).

Martin is majoring in business management and is a member of the SAC Commissioner's Honor Roll and the Tusculum Athletic Director's Honor Roll.

Tusculum finished the season with a 30-21 overall record and tied for third place in the South Atlantic Conference standings.


2019 NCBWA Division II All-America Team
First Team
C – Matt Malkin, MSU Denver
1B – Andrew Czech, Walsh
2B – Daulton Martin, Tusculum
3B – Jared Melone, West Chester
SS – Utah Jones, North Greenville
OF – Josh Elvir, Angelo State
OF – Cole Kleszcz, Azusa Pacific
OF – Erik Webb, Central Missouri
DH – Jake Engel, Dixie State
UTL – Eddie Nevins, Wilmington (Del.)
SP – Joe Corbett, West Texas A&M
SP – Tucker Burgess, North Greenville
SP – Ed Baram, Adelphi
RP – Will Dixon, Colorado Mesa

Second Team
C – John Michael Faile, North Greenville
1B – Adam Sasser, North Greenville
2B – Gabe Chavez, Cal State San Bernardino
3B – Osvaldo Tovalin, Azusa Pacific
SS – Macy Holdsworth, Indianapolis
OF – Trevor Kehe, Colorado School of Mines
OF – Yorvis Torreabla, Tampa
OF – Jordan Hart, Minnesota State
DH – Conner Durden, USC Aiken
UTL – Justin Smith, Shepherd
SP – Dillon McCollough, Eckerd
SP – Joshua Loeschorn, LIU Post
SP – Max Steffens, Augustana
RP – Quinton Driggers, Newberry
UTL – Justin Smith, Shepherd

Third Team
C – Ramon Enriquez, Oklahoma Baptist
1B – Daniel Cipriano, MSU Billings
2B – Jake Barlow, Delta State
3B – Jacob Buchberger, Davenport
SS – Caleb Sneed, Southwest Baptist
OF – Auggie Francis, New Mexico Highlands
OF – Ethan Baucom, UNC Pembroke
OF – Brenton Doyle, Shepherd
DH – Andrew Chuba, Seton Hill
UTL – Jordan Barth, Augustana
SP – Hunter Brown, Wayne State (Mich.)
SP – Ethan Elliott, Lincoln Memorial
SP – Ryan Johnson, Lubbock Christian
RP – Jeffery Praml, Southern New Hampshire