TC Sports
Tramicka James (photo by Nathan Carver)Tramicka James (photo by Nathan Carver)

Tramicka James named to Daktronics All-Region first team

Repeats as first team pick, honored for third straight year

ST. AUGUSTINE, Fla. --- Tusculum College junior forward Tramicka James was named to the 2011 Daktronics NCAA Division II All-Southeast Region Women's Soccer Team Tuesday afternoon, earning first-team honors for the second straight year.

James (Wilson, N.C.) is the first Pioneer to be a three-time Daktronics All-Region honoree and the first Tusculum player to earn first-team status in back-to-back years after leading the South Atlantic Conference in total goals (15), goals per match (0.830), total points (34) and points per match (1.89). She scored at least one goal in 10 of the Pioneers' 19 matches, including four multi-goal games, and tallied three game-winning goals including the winner with 18 seconds left in 2-1 win over Catawba on Oct. 22.

In the latest NCAA Division II women's soccer statistics, through games of Nov. 13, James ranks 14th in total goals, 21st in total points, 19th in goals per match and 23rd in points per match. She is fourth among Southeast Region players in both total goals and total points, and fifth in the region in both goals per match and points per match.

James became the third player in program history to reach 100 career points with an assist in the Pioneers' 3-0 win at Carson-Newman on Oct. 26, while her 43 career goals are tied for third on the program's all-time list. She will enter her senior season tied for ninth in career assists with 16 and in third place on the career scoring list with 102 points.

The Pioneers finished 10-7-2 overall in 2011 and shared third place in the final South Atlantic Conference standings with a 5-4 league record.

James now advances along with the region's other first-team honorees to the Daktronics All-America ballot, which will be announced later this month. The Daktronics NCAA II All-Southeast Region Women’s Soccer Team is selected by a vote of the region’s sports information directors of the Southeast Region, comprised of the Conference Carolinas, the Peach Belt Conference, and the South Atlantic Conference.

The team is sponsored by Daktronics, Inc., an acknowledged world leader in scoring, timing and programmable display systems for virtually every sport at every level of competition. The online nomination and voting process is powered by ATHLETICSITE.COM.

- TC -

2011 Daktronics NCAA Division II All-Southeast Region Women’s Soccer Team
Pos.   Name                        Yr.           School
F      Ashley Alderin-Fleagle      Sr.           Limestone College
F      Morgan Shelton              Sr.           King College
F      Tramicka James*             Jr.           Tusculum College
F      Kristina Pascutti           Jr.           Armstrong Atlantic State University
M      Kelly Adams                 Sr.           Wingate University
M      Stephanie Lowery*           Sr.           Columbus State University
M      Carley Griffin              Jr.           Lenoir-Rhyne University
M      Morgan Mitchell*            Jr.           Armstrong Atlantic State University
D      Catherine Hauck*            Sr.           Lenoir-Rhyne University
D      Kansas Bayly                So.           Columbus State University
D      Kelli Bahr*                 Sr.           Armstrong Atlantic State University
D      Mary Dorn                   Sr.           Lees-McRae College
GK     Britney Bennett*            So.           UNC Pembroke

Region Player of the Year: Catherine Hauck, Lenoir-Rhyne University

Pos.   Name                        Yr.           School
F      Laura Linehan               Sr.           Lenoir-Rhyne University
F      Jade Montgomery             Fr.           Wingate University
F      Lindsey Stanley             Sr.           Mount Olive College
F      Meagan Thornton             Fr.           Lees-McRae College
M      MaryBeth Sullivan*          So.           Lees-McRae College
M      Mariel Mena                 Sr.           Lenoir-Rhyne University
M      Alyssa Wombell              Sr.           Pfeiffer University
M      Leanne Reid                 Sr.           Lincoln Memorial University
D      Fanny Forsman               Jr.           UNC Pembroke
D      Casey King                  Sr.           Wingate University
D      Jessica Schob               Sr.           Lenoir-Rhyne University
D      Kelly Moldenhauer*          Jr.           Wingate University
GK     Mary Mancin                 Jr.           Columbus State University

*-indicates was a member of the 2010 Daktronics All-Southeast Region Team

Printable Version Open As Word Bookmark and Share